Passion Development Community

Coppi e Bartali

Named after two of Italy's greatest cyclists, Fausto Coppi and Gino Bartali - whose rivalry was that of legends - the Italien stage race Settimana Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali (otherwise known as Coppi e Bartali) is an annual event held over five days in the Emilia-Romagna region of Italy.

The race was first held in 1984 with Moreno Argentin as the first winner and Laurent Fignon winning the second edition. Other notable victors include Paolo Bettini, Damiano Cunego, Cadel Evans and our very own Rolf Sørensen in 1990.

In 2005 it was introduced into the UCI Europe Tour calendar as a 2.1 race, and is considered one of the most important stage races in Italy. The previous year, the organizers decided to retire the number 145, worn by Marco Pantani in 2003, where he stood on the podium for the last time, when he finished second on a stage.


”It’ll be exciting to go out and compete with some of the biggest teams in the world. I’m looking forward to seeing where we are compared to them”, says directeur sportif Michael Skelde.

“The hills down here are maybe a bit too long considering the competition we’re up against here. We’re starting tomorrow with two half-stages where one is a TTT - it might be a bit too early in the race for us. Other than that, it’s going to be some tough days in the mountains where we have to place our ambitions after how the race develops.”

“I can see from the results in the previous years, that the teams in 2nd division often does well here, and I think, that we’ll be able to do a good race as well.”

“I think we have good opportunities to do some good results. Sindre Lunke, Krister Hagen, Rasmus Quaade, Lucas Eriksson and Alexander Kamp all have what it takes to do good in these hilly stages and with some luck we should be able to do a good race.”

“But we have to be realistic as well. Depending on how the race evolves our biggest shot a success would be to go on the offensive to target a stage win. That’s our biggest goal for this race - we’ll see what we can do.”


Last year's winners:

2018: Diego Rosa (Team Sky)

2017: Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie)

2016: Sergey Firsanov (Gazprom-RusVelo)





16 strong riders makes up the RIWAL READYNEZ CYCLING TEAM. Here you will find facts on all of them and in their own words read why they have chosen the hardest sport in the World as their passion....

Read morekeyboard_arrow_right

Race calendar

27/07 Tour de Wallonie
31/07 Tour de Alsace
21/08 PostNord Danmark Rundt
18/09 Okolo Slovenska / Tour de Slo...

Get closer to the team


Follow on Instagram